(mostly) daily photoblog

WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique

unique

I don’t like Photoshop effects that make a photo look unreal, unless the effect that the “photographer” is going for is something other than real. I do use it for my photos – specifically curves and levels – to change the contrast, but I try to avoid the bulk of what Photoshop offers me.

I also avoid self-portraits, or, truth be told, any photographs of me. I’d rather be behind the camera than in front of it.

Those two bits of info make this photo unique. I shot this photo of myself, then processed it by layering me on top of the background, then Gaussian blurred the background layer and switched it to black and white. Then I played with the top layer, me, a little be lowering the saturation level. Plus, it’s a photo of me.

I got my hair cut today as well, so I figured today was a good day to “shoot myself”, as it were.

3 responses

  1. I do not even have Photoshop – the pics I post are as they were seen by me and the composition I chose.

    February 2, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    • I shoot RAW, and the photos are completely unprocessed. If a photo is shot on film and processed in a lab then there are contrast adjustments made. For that matter, shooting jpegs provide the photographer with some processing done in-camera.

      I really do as little as I can, but I also like the experimental aspect of Photoshop. I don’t, however, like to over-process. Today was an exception.

      February 2, 2013 at 9:36 pm

  2. Reblogged this on Captain Butter.

    February 3, 2013 at 9:19 am