(mostly) daily photoblog

WordPress Photo Challenge: Thankful

Well, I’m not American, but every day is a good day to be thankful.  Having spent my life in Canada, and just having moved to South Asia, Jakarta specifically, I have had much…more than much…for which to be thankful.  My walk to and from school makes me remember that I am in a privileged spot in this city, this country really.  I have a lovely, relatively un-decorated, large apartment, a beautiful family, a well-appointed job, a couple of motorcycles to buy (this week, hopefully), and a well-stocked kitchen, even though we don’t always eat at home.  A ridiculously high number of people in this country don’t have that, any of that.  I am colossally, universally, cosmically thankful.

This was shot, by the way, at the Ragunan Zoo back in August.  If this is any indication of the massively disparate economies of this country, it cost my family 14000 Rupiah to enter this zoo.  That works out to about $1.50 Canadian, or American for that matter.  All four of us for $1.50.

Comments are closed.