(mostly) daily photoblog

Blue Sky

I never thought I’d miss the sky.  I grew up in rural Saskatchewan, and I was never short of blue sky.  Even in the winters, we’d have more hours of clear, cold blue sky than most people get in a really nice summer.  When I moved to British Columbia, the Vancouver area, I gave up a lot of that blue sky.  But when it wasn’t raining, the sky was blue.  Azure.  At times, almost sapphire.

Then I moved to Jakarta.  There are moments when the sky is blue.  Sometimes, when I’m outside swimming I can look up and see a little spot of blue, between the gray-brown-white-ish clouds.  The geography of Jakarta lends itself to a sort of mixing bowl effect.  When you add together the ingredients of twenty-some million people, millions of cars and motorcycles, a lack of good sanitation, and a low-lying city surrounded by hills, you get a nearly complete lack of blue sky.

When I visited Palu, there were kilometers in every direction of blue sky.  Spectacular.  Totally amazing.  I miss blue sky.

Comments are closed.