(mostly) daily photoblog

Commute (last one)

Alright.  After today’s post, I’ve got to start shooting, and posting, some new stuff.  Here’s the end of my walk to school:

 

The floors above the Hypermart sign are my school.  Yes, it feels a little weird to be teaching in a high-rise building.

One quick note here.  I love these guys.  Our school has a security guard on practically every floor, and they greet me as I enter the building.  I’ve struck up a bit of a rapport with a few of them, Pak Setyo especially.  He and I have agreed to trade language lessons.  He learns English from me, I learn Bahasa from him.  It’s a nice trade-off, but I like the relationship more than the lessons.  The security guards are one of the many joys of working at SPH International.

9 responses

  1. Must say a most attractive route.

    September 12, 2012 at 10:26 pm

  2. A most interesting series of photos and a walk that beats anything in Chilliwack or Abbotsford. Thanks for letting us see what you are seeing.

    Buster

    September 13, 2012 at 1:45 am

    • Thanks. Yeah, the differences between the Fraser Valley are many, but my love for this place is growing with every day.

      Thanks for checking in.

      September 13, 2012 at 3:27 pm

  3. Crispin Waugh

    Thank so much for the pics. Brought back wonderful memories of living in Jakarta for 6 months in 2006. The manner you took the photos made me feel I was back in the ‘gang-gang’ I used to walk down in South Jakarta. Despite the traffic and other problems, the city really has soul…

    September 13, 2012 at 9:16 am

    • I’m glad that I was able to capture that feeling. Btw, what’s “gang-gang”? Also, in what part of Jakarta Selatan did you live?

      September 13, 2012 at 3:27 pm

      • Crispin Waugh

        I wanted to write just ‘gang’ (lane), but thought anyone reading would think I was in the hood! So I put the plural just to dispel any wrong notion. I was in Asem Baris for 3 months then Condet for the last part. Now I’m just across the water from you in Malaysia.

        September 13, 2012 at 4:36 pm

      • Cool. How close are you to KL?

        September 13, 2012 at 4:42 pm

  4. Crispin Waugh

    Very near in Selangor. Look forward to more photos from you!

    September 14, 2012 at 7:43 am

    • I was curious because I’m going to be in KL next month for training (IB school).

      September 14, 2012 at 8:51 am