(mostly) daily photoblog

The commute…part 1

I take a twenty minute walk to work each day.  I am going to show you my walk to work, but it’ll take a few days.  It’ll also take quite a few photos.  Here’s the first part.  We live in an apartment complex that’s part of a much larger complex of condominiums and townhouses.  We’ve got lots of security.  You’ll see them soon.

We walk past our security gate and some really nice guards every morning.  I used to walk with headphones in my ears all the time, but I hear, “Selamat pagi,” so often in the morning that I keep my headphones out until I’m well on my way up the hill away from home.

We’re past security and on the way to school, and so are a lot of other people.  Our school is a couple of kilometers away, but another school, an Indonesian National school, is located right outside our Villas.  From what I understand, this education is free, and so many students and families want their children educated that they send them to a school that is so overpopulated that they run two schools in one – one that starts at 6:30 and another that starts at 12:30.  I feel hope and sadness at the same time.

I don’t know if you can see them, but the bajaj drivers are waiting for my wife and children, who drive to school, and then I start up the hill.  Once I crest the hill, the rest of the walk is easy.  Flower shops on the left, miscellany on the right.

 

More tomorrow…

 

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. I can lose myself there. Green with envy on your luck!

    September 8, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    • Thanks. There’s lots to complain about, but more to love.

      September 8, 2012 at 9:55 pm