(mostly) daily photoblog

New friend…sort of…

There have been few times in my life that I’ve been a visible minority.  There are parts of Vancouver, Coquitlam, and Richmond (British Columbia, Canada) where being Caucasian makes me a minority.  I have never been so visible a minority that people stare, point, and talk about me.  I’ve also never been felt like a celebrity because I’m “white”.

That changed today.  I took my family to the Ragunan Zoological Park in Jakarta, Indonesia.  We weren’t even in the park yet when my daughter was being pawed by a lady standing outside the gate.  This lady was trying to convey something to my wife and making some comparison between her own daughter and mine.  We went into the park and quickly realized that we were the only white people in the park, and we weren’t the only ones who knew it.

The lovely young lady in the photo above was the bravest of her friends and approached my daughter.  “Can I take a picture with you?” she said.  My daughter looked at me, like she was asking permission.  I said, “We’ll trade.  You can take a picture with Hannah if I can take a picture with you.”

It was the most interesting and strange experience of my life.  We were interesting just because of our skin color.

5 responses

  1. Nice tio be a novelty hey 🙂

    August 21, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    • Yeah. A bit weird,though, as I got the feeling that people were in the zoo to see the big white man and not the animals.

      August 21, 2012 at 3:30 pm

  2. photobach

    Très jolie portrai

    August 21, 2012 at 8:34 pm

  3. photobach

    Très jolie portrait

    August 21, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    • Merci beaucoup.

      August 21, 2012 at 9:15 pm