(mostly) daily photoblog

Worker’s safety…

…means something very different here in Jakarta than it does in Vancouver, BC.  I saw these guys moving rebar on Saturday after I finished playing basketball with some other teachers.  As I pulled out my camera, they saw me and smiled.  The only thought I had was, “Wow!  That’s an…interesting…way to move rebar off the top of a truck.”

There is construction going on all around my school, as it is in a high-rise building in a new development, and I’ve seen some very interesting situations.  I’ve watched guys cut tile and, rather than wear safety glasses, they line up their grinder and look away as they cut.  I’ve watched welders use $3 sunglasses to spot weld railings.  The most shocking one?  I watched a guy climb up and through some ironwork on the outside of the 13th floor, grab hold of some chain, lift himself up and crawl up to the 14th floor.  No harness.  No scaffolding.  Just some guy, freestyle climbing up the outside of a building, 14 floors above the ground.  I watched like one might watch traffic, waiting for an accident to happen, hoping it doesn’t, but thinking it might.

I’m very thankful for the safety rules that we have in North America.  I never have been before, but I am now.

Comments are closed.