(mostly) daily photoblog

So many stairs

Before I left my former school in Canada, I moved from the third floor to the first floor.  I did this for two reasons:  1.  All of my student leadership activities were on the first floor, and; 2.  I hated running up and down flights of stairs just to get from my classroom to the office to the gym and back again.

Then I moved to Jakarta.  My school is in a high-rise building.  There are something like seven floors of parking before you even get to my school.  Once inside, my school has LG (lower ground), G (ground), and UG (upper ground) floors.  Then, floors one through eight.  Here’s a little math for you:  take 400 students; divide by two elevators; multiply by eleven floors…and you get a great number of stairs that must be negotiated every day.  It’s easier, and harder, to run the stairs than it is to wait for an elevator.  Plus, it’s a good workout.  I guess I can eat a little more at dinner tomorrow.

The photo, above, was taken on the sixth floor looking down to the Ground Floor.  I guess that makes it nine floors down that you’re seeing.  Weirdly abstract.

4 responses

  1. Was showing the website to someone yesterday and they were most impressed with the architecture….it looks amazing.
    Have an awesome week….keep climbing!

    July 24, 2012 at 9:16 pm

  2. Nice pic – I say if it buys you the equivalent of a cinnamon bun, it’s worth taking the stairs. I always equate excercis to cinnamon bun equivalents, or cheesecake equivalents…its my motivation for everything. My brain was hurting trying to figure out the perspective till you ‘splained it with yer excellent writing. Thanks. I feel better now…except I need to find some stairs cause I’m craving a butterhorn. 🙂

    July 24, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    • But running these stairs buys me the equivalent of a Cinnabon store.

      July 24, 2012 at 10:28 pm

  3. Whoa, beautifully abstract!

    July 25, 2012 at 5:29 am