(mostly) daily photoblog

The reader.

 

On my way home from a haircut (“Saya potong rambut” in Bahasa Indonesian), I snapped this photo of a flower seller reading a book.  He seemed deeply engrossed in the book, as there was total chaos going on around him.  Bajai and Ojek drivers moving past, cars going by, some white guy snapping photos…and he stayed focused on his book.  Here’s hoping that, as we start the school year tomorrow, my students are as dedicated to their reading as this man is.

4 responses

  1. Chloe

    good luck with school tomorrow 🙂
    this is a lovely photograph

    July 24, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    • Thanks, Chloe. How are you doing?

      July 24, 2012 at 5:22 pm

      • Chloe

        I’m well, how are you? 🙂

        July 25, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      • Really great. Jakarta is more of an education than I thought it would be, but I’m enjoying it.

        July 25, 2012 at 5:18 pm