(mostly) daily photoblog

There’s no place like home…

That’s my home.  Not the whole thing, but the apartment at the bottom.  From the bottom left window across to the right edge of the building.  It’s 2000 square feet, with three bedrooms and maid’s quarters.

Yeah, I thought the same thing.  We’ve not hired a pembantu (assistant – what we commonly think of as maids) yet.  Honestly, I’m having a lot of trouble with the whole idea.  The argument for hiring one is that the money they earn helps a (probably) large family and the convenience for us is that we have someone living with us who cooks and cleans for us.  The argument against, in my mind, is that I believe in fair and equal treatment for everyone.  Getting paid very little and living in a space that is an oversized storage closet is not fair and equal.  Not fair, at the least.

We’re loving most aspects of life here, but there are many aspects with which I’ve not yet come to grips.  And I’ve only been here a week.  Let’s see what the next one hundred and three weeks have in store.

3 responses

  1. That Wes guy

    If it’s any consolation, you’re probably living in a culture that is more like that of Jesus than you had in Canuckistan: so next time you read anything in the NT about how to treat one’s slaves, you’ll have insight. Though if I were you I’d seriously consider exhuming Wilberforce and reviving him so he could get your part of the world up to speed. Maybe just don’t tell Woody Harrelson about the idea though.

    July 18, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    • I love you, man. We need to Facetime soon. I’d try when you’re ready, but I’m in meetings all week. How about Friday night (for you)?

      July 18, 2012 at 8:51 pm

  2. Rachel

    I’d like a maid 🙂

    July 21, 2012 at 8:42 am