(mostly) daily photoblog

What does mourning look like?

My wife and children and I went to visit her grandmothers’ graves yesterday.  My wife’s paternal grandmother died on Easter Sunday a number of years ago and, although it was not April 8, it seemed fitting to go visit yesterday.

I felt it strange that my own children had never visited a cemetery before.  By the time I was my daughter’s age, I had attended my paternal grandfather’s funeral and my mother’s uncle’s funeral.  Yet, my kids have never experienced the death of anyone close.  I watched as my son wandered, asking questions as he went.  My daughter solemnly walked from grave to grave, uncharacteristically quiet.  It was a singular experience.

As I followed my curious children, I found some interesting photographic subjects.  I never know, though, whether it is okay to snap photos in a cemetery.  What do you think?

3 responses

  1. I reckon that as long as the grave isn’t fresh there is no problem. I’m sure the deceased are happy to share works of art such as that shown in your photo!

    April 9, 2012 at 10:48 am

  2. I like the composition of this photograph. I have also wondered the same thing in regards to taking photos in a cemetery. I have yet to do it but I might when I go and visit my fathers grave site.

    April 10, 2012 at 11:40 am

  3. I love visiting and photographing in cemeteries. I think it is perfectly okay.

    April 10, 2012 at 7:53 pm