(mostly) daily photoblog

An unexpected journey

I never do this.  I never post photos of me.  It seems that I would always rather be behind the camera, never in front of it.  But this week’s photo challenge, Journey, spawned a bit of self-reflection.  There have been a few changes around my house lately, and I’ve been hinting at big things, but there’s big news.

For those of you who’ve been around here for a while, this next sentence might come as a bit of a surprise.  I’m moving to Indonesia for two years, and I’m leaving in three months.  My wife and I will be teaching in an international school and my children will be attending the same school.  We are going on a journey.  Oh, and this has only been in the works for five weeks, but in those five weeks we’ve talked with the school director and his wife, applied to work at the school, been interviewed and accepted, signed contracts and now?  Well, now we’re selling our house and all earthly possessions (almost) to get ready to move.

The photo above was a failed attempt at a work permit photo.  It didn’t work for the permit – too much glare off the background – but it gave me a chance to share my journey with you.

By the way, has anyone here been to Jakarta?  Any advice for a soon-to-be expat?

 

Late note here:  my wife wanted to make sure I noted that this was shot by her, not me.  The processing in b&w was me, but she, technically, pushed the button.  Sorry honey.

18 responses

  1. Wow! That is so exciting! Props to you guys to just do something like that. Do either/both of you speak…Indonesian? Is that the correct language?

    April 6, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    • Um…nope. It’s called “bahasa”, apparently, and my kids will learn it at their school, but we’re teaching in an English-speaking International school.

      It is exciting. And stressful…and nerve-wracking…and…

      April 6, 2012 at 11:31 pm

  2. Good luck with the new adventure and may the milestones on the journey be marked with success.

    April 6, 2012 at 10:48 pm

  3. What a wonderful journey you are all going on. I’m so jealous!

    April 7, 2012 at 1:54 am

  4. That is amazing! Wishing you and your family all the best! As an international nomad myself, I can relate; it can be both exciting and daunting.
    Best Wishes! 🙂
    E

    April 7, 2012 at 2:55 am

  5. Sounds like have a journey ahead of you!

    April 7, 2012 at 7:57 am

  6. Best wishes to you both on your bold adventure!

    April 7, 2012 at 8:47 am

  7. Rachel

    That is VERY VERY Exciting….good for you guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    April 7, 2012 at 9:48 am

  8. A journey starts with the first step. And it may not be about the destiny, but about the way of getting and living there. Best of luck!

    April 7, 2012 at 10:37 am

  9. Best of luck on your journey…you’ll have WONDERFUL photos, I’m sure!

    April 7, 2012 at 11:54 am

    • Yeah, I’m looking forward to shooting an entirely new culture (to me).

      April 7, 2012 at 8:19 pm

  10. Wow, such an exciting journey for you and your family in so many ways. You won’t regret going although there will be days when you will regret not staying at home. . . .best wishes to you and your family for the time ahead and we look forward to more of your wonderful photos from the tropics. Lovely to meet you btw!

    April 7, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    • I’m going to try to continue to post photos daily until the move. After the move, I guess what’s right in front of me will be another culture entirely, so I’ll have to post photos.

      April 7, 2012 at 8:18 pm

  11. I worked for Indonesian Embassy in the Philippines for more than a decade. I have been around its people and was literally exposed to its culture: food, language, & many of its interesting traditions. They are great, and I am sure you’ll have a great time. Keep us posted of your exciting journey! Semoga sukses! (Good luck!)

    April 7, 2012 at 4:07 pm

  12. All the best as you embark on your journey.

    April 7, 2012 at 6:49 pm

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey « 3rdculturechildren

  14. What an amazing journey for your family. Best of luck!

    April 9, 2012 at 10:31 am

  15. Thanks for the photo and the live changing journey you are undertaking.

    April 10, 2012 at 5:11 pm