(mostly) daily photoblog

Lime Cream Cheese Tart

This was what my daughter wanted for her birthday cake.  She and I have been cooking together for a long time.  She is turning eleven in a couple of days and since she was old enough to help, she’s been my assistant in the kitchen.  I had her smelling spices and stirring batter and cracking eggs at age three.

So when I asked her what she wanted for her birthday cake, I should have expected her to say something like this.  What I wasn’t expecting was how long it would take to make it.  It was worth it, though.  It might be the best “birthday cake” I’ve ever made.

I realize this is not my best photo ever posted, but it certainly is one of the tastiest.

4 responses

  1. … And happy birthday to her.

    March 12, 2012 at 6:43 am

  2. Looks delicious!

    March 12, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    • You have no idea. Creamy and rich, but the acid from the lime cut through it all so that it wasn’t too rich. So good. For all the work, I’d do it again. Seeing as I only got one piece out of the entire thing, I’d definitely do it again.

      March 12, 2012 at 4:28 pm

  3. Rachel

    Yum!

    March 12, 2012 at 4:34 pm