(mostly) daily photoblog

WordPress Photo Challenge: Distorted

There are a lot of ways to muck up a photo, to really distort it.

The two photos above are the product of boredom.  I went out onto my front porch, adjusted the shutter speed to 2 seconds, changed the aperture to f8, aimed down the rain-soaked street and pulled the trigger.  As I felt the camera straining against the shutter, I moved my hands in any direction.  Loops.  Zigzags.  Crazy shapes.  Then I checked the LCD to see what kind of distortion I had done to my street.

The product is what you see above.  Weird, but I like them.

12 responses

  1. Great ones – you did it, camera movement can be an arty end result when done correctly.

    March 5, 2012 at 6:07 am

  2. Michael Fishman

    I like them both a lot! I also like the picture of the Pentax. That was the first non-instamatic camera I ever owned. I never really figured out how to use it, but it was the first.

    March 5, 2012 at 1:47 pm

  3. So you didn’t mean to make the first one look like a series of eighth notes? Impressive…most impressive my friend 🙂

    March 5, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    • After I saw it on the LCD, I actually tried to recreate it and it would not happen. Funny how things sometimes turn out on their own.

      March 5, 2012 at 4:43 pm

  4. I like them too… sometimes these make the best photos.

    http://withoutthew.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/weekly-photo-challenge-distorted/

    March 5, 2012 at 6:05 pm

  5. beautiful light and color and spirals. great pics.

    March 6, 2012 at 5:14 pm

  6. Not bad! I kinda like it too

    March 6, 2012 at 10:35 pm

  7. The things one can do with a camera 😉 I’m just learning and love looking at everyones creations and coming up with some odd photo’s esp on this WPC 😀 Good job, Immie 🙂

    March 7, 2012 at 10:57 am

  8. Yeah, I think they’re pretty cool, too. And why you’re at it, why don’t you come and visit my entry to Distorted?

    https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/weekly-photo-challenge-distorted/

    March 7, 2012 at 6:20 pm

  9. I really like the results. Great work!

    March 9, 2012 at 7:33 am