(mostly) daily photoblog

Inner City: Photo Friday

I went downtown in my city, Chilliwack, yesterday and snapped this shot.

I’ve always loved this old theater.  My wife and I, when we were dating, went to see a couple of movies in this theater.  Schindler’s List and Dragon:  The Bruce Lee Story.  It was old then, but it had character.

The company that owned this theater sold it to the city a couple of years ago for something like a dollar.  I think it may have been only a dollar.  The intent, as I gathered it, was that the city would do something with it and turn it into something for the community.

So far…nothing.  The neon tubes, which is hinted at in the shadows on the PARAMOUNT sign, are gone or broken or falling apart.  The windows are boarded up.  It looks sad.

It could be a foundation for a revitalized downtown area.  Instead, it is an anchor holding it down.

3 responses

  1. MindMindful

    Very nice photo — B&W enhances that sense of disrepair & sadness, I think.

    February 26, 2012 at 10:08 am

  2. I’m so in-love with black and white photography white now.. your photos are inspirational

    February 28, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    • Well, aren’t you sweet. Thanks for the nice words.

      February 28, 2012 at 8:06 pm