(mostly) daily photoblog

Looking down (again – I know…)

This week’s WordPress Photo Challenge is “Down” and it has taken on a mind of its own inside my head.  I’ve been realizing how often I shoot from a perspective of looking down on my subject.  This subject is the floor of the Baptistry in Pisa, Italy.

I pride myself on shooting a great number of my photos from perspectives that others do not.  I try to get down on the ground for many shots.  I’ll climb up on chairs and tables and counter-tops.  I’ll hang myself off railings and practically lie down on railway lines.  All in the name of getting the right shot.

But down?  I don’t often look down on things.  I’m over six feet tall and I spend much of my day looking down, so it seems to me that it’s a given that I’ll look down – in which case, I’ll avoid it when I’m shooting photographs.  Avoid the obvious.

Yet, when WordPress posted “down” as the challenge, there they were.  So many photos looking down.  Maybe my mind is fighting me and I don’t even know it…

…the first rule of photo club is…

11 responses

  1. I love all your pictures. MORE!

    February 20, 2012 at 5:54 am

  2. Very impressive pic!

    February 20, 2012 at 6:21 am

  3. Nice post & image. You are correct when you stated…

    >>pride myself on shooting a great number >>of my photos from perspectives that >>others do not.

    February 20, 2012 at 8:48 am

    • Thanks. I do try to look at things that are usually missed in the routine of a day. I was at a conference not too long ago wherein the speaker tasked us all with looking at the things we took for granted. After an agonizing two minutes, he came back to us with, “Was it hard? Of course it was. The things we take for granted are the things we always overlook.”

      It occurred to me that I need to stop taking anything for granted. Live life with more purpose, shoot the photos that I would otherwise take for granted. It’s kind of become a life philosophy.

      February 20, 2012 at 9:53 am

  4. Beautiful picture. You captured this one, so beautifully. Like it a lot.

    February 20, 2012 at 9:01 pm

  5. I take it the first rule is the same as the second? What I have always enjoyed about your photos is the inclusion of people who do seem to be so at home in the shots, with purpose – not extras who have wandered on to the wrong set with no clue where they are.

    February 21, 2012 at 7:28 am

  6. nice post and image. I like your perspective in the photograph and on photography.

    February 21, 2012 at 8:04 am

  7. Awesome point of view!

    February 21, 2012 at 12:47 pm

  8. Amar Naik

    beautiful place
    http://amarnaik.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/weekly-photo-challenge-down/

    February 21, 2012 at 7:46 pm

  9. That is one seriously beautiful building, and your picture of it is fabulous. What a floor!

    Writing from the Edge

    http://lorely-writingfromtheedge.blogspot.com/2012/02/picture-it-in-your-own-words-down-2.html

    February 23, 2012 at 2:25 pm

  10. great to be in Pisa!
    greetings by
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/weekly-photo-challenge-down/

    February 24, 2012 at 9:33 am