(mostly) daily photoblog

Down, again.

This place, Monte Carlo (and Monaco), was not my favorite stop on the Europe trip.

Was it beautiful?  Yes.

Was it luxurious?  Yes.

Was it over-the-top?  Yes.

What really put me off it was the new-ness and the “Las Vegas”-ness of it.  Please understand, it’s not gaudy and grotesque like Vegas.  It’s just the overpowering reminders money and…well…money, I guess.  It didn’t feel like any other place on the trip.

Beautiful, though, looking down on the marina.

11 responses

  1. Some crowded yacht basin that!!

    February 18, 2012 at 7:45 am

  2. Wow! A great landscape you have here! =)

    February 18, 2012 at 2:50 pm

  3. I’d like to go there sometime, simply because it is so iconic in pop culture. I’ll probably react the way you did, but that’s OK. Just want to see if up close.
    ~Anne

    February 18, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    • Oh, don’t get me wrong. I am glad I got to see it, but only because I can say that I saw it. It is spectacular, but there’s a strong concentration on “spectacle”.

      February 18, 2012 at 6:19 pm

  4. how very nice image!

    February 18, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    • Thanks. How very nice of you to stop by.

      February 18, 2012 at 8:06 pm

  5. Amar Naik

    place is beautiful. the photos has nicely captured colors

    http://amarnaik.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/weekly-photo-challenge-down/

    February 19, 2012 at 9:26 am

  6. Well, I could be comfortable being here for a few days with my camera. Thanks for the image!

    February 19, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    • Ha! Yeah, I could handle living there if I could actually afford it. Otherwise, it would seem like being bombarded with what I can’t have.

      February 19, 2012 at 8:42 pm

  7. Beautiful photography. Down, again.

    This place looks beautiful, luxurious and Yes it is over-the-top. 🙂

    February 20, 2012 at 9:31 pm

  8. Love it!!!

    February 21, 2012 at 6:32 am