(mostly) daily photoblog

Washing by hand

Do you still wash your pots and pans, maybe even dishes, by hand?  I seem to have some kind of block in my head when it comes to the dishwasher.  I don’t like to put my pots and frying pans in there.  I have this idea in my head that it doesn’t do as good a job as I do.  Plus, I learned something last night.

After making dinner, I moved the pots and frying pan to the side of the sink and ran a sink of warm/hot water, dropped a bit of soap in and  then washed the dishes.  And I enjoyed it.

When I was young, we didn’t have a dishwasher, so there was no choice about how to was the dishes.  My mom did most of the washing, but when were deemed old enough my sister and I started washing the dishes on a regular basis.  We fought over who would wash and who would dry.  I hated washing back then, but I love it now.  In fact, I look back on that time pretty fondly.  Stupid, I know, but nostalgia fogs the mind.

9 responses

  1. I don’t have a dishwasher, so that’s my only option. But I agree, there’s something cathartic about washing by hand and I quite enjoy it. My downfall comes to putting the dry dishes away.

    February 15, 2012 at 7:06 am

    • I like the team spirit that washing dishes with someone else can create. Then the dishes get put away by one or the other.

      February 15, 2012 at 8:44 am

  2. dianne - life as i see it

    i enjoy to wash my dishes and pans by hand, always have always will. i don’t have a dish washer. cool photo.. 😉

    February 15, 2012 at 9:43 am

  3. MindMindful

    I too like to wash dishes by hand. I especially like to use castile soap & do the dishes in a plastic tub. The coconut oil-based soap makes the hands very soft & smooth AND then it can be used to water the plants outside;) Very nice photo……….

    February 15, 2012 at 1:38 pm

  4. we’ve been washing ours by hand for the last 6 months but we got a dishwasher with our new kitchen & it gets installed tonight..
    i dont think i’ll miss washing them, although i didnt do it often anyways, i dont like the feeling of the detergent on my hands

    but i do however, like all the bubbles in this shot

    February 15, 2012 at 4:21 pm

  5. I know exactly how you feel. Without the scrubbing and the rinsing, the dishes just don’t feel clean enough. I need to be able to clean them myself and feel the smooth surface with my own two hands to know that my dishes are clean. I don’t think I’m ever going to buy a dishwasher…

    February 15, 2012 at 5:43 pm

  6. elmediat

    I really don’t like washing pots & pans. Dishes & glasses are no problem, but like you we don’t put the pots and pans into the dishwasher. You can see where this is going; life is a paradox. Use Paradox to clean your pots and pans.

    February 15, 2012 at 6:09 pm

  7. Wallace

    I like the picture too.

    February 16, 2012 at 11:58 am

  8. This photo is really interesting. I couldn’t quite tell what it was at first, which I like.I love the composition too, with the black handle coming into the picture from the bottom corner and the incomplete arc of the edge of the pan.The detail of the bubbles is perfect!

    February 17, 2012 at 5:44 am