(mostly) daily photoblog

WordPress Photo Challenge: Regrets

 

So, this is one of the most frustrating topics from the WordPress Photo Challenge.  I don’t know exactly what to do with “Regret“.  There are many photo challenges where I’ve felt just that – challenged.  But this?  Well, here goes.

Now, if I make some decisions that I wish I hadn’t made, take action in the wrong direction and wish that I’d acted in a different way, then I feel regret.  If I conduct myself in my relationships in a way that breaks trust, that is unethical or immoral, then I feel regret.  If I leave my house without telling my kids and wife that I love them and live everyday as though it might be my last (because it might be), then I will feel regret.

But I see decisions and actions as footsteps in the snow.  Let me see if I can explain this.  When snow falls, there’s that moment where everything is pristine, untouched.  But there comes the time when someone takes a step into the snow.  There’s steps and missteps, there’s dirt tracked in and grass that suddenly shows.  There are those snow angels that never quite look angelic, but there was an attempt by some little devil to make himself better for a moment.

Here’s the cool part.  None of these things are permanent.  The snow melts.  Or new snow falls and covers everything over.  If I live with regrets, I spend all my time thinking about all those things that are left in the snow.  Even when they’ve been covered.  Even when they’ve faded and disappeared.

My philosophy?  Don’t live with regrets.  Make more angels.  Have fun making new steps in pristine snow.

29 responses

  1. What a beautiful image and philosophy on regrets. Your post speaks to me as none other.
    I found it a challenge, too, and wasn’t satisfied with my choice but felt at a loss to illustrate regret.
    It did bring regrets to mind, though, so now I will wait for the snow to melt.

    February 11, 2012 at 5:59 am

  2. I like your explanation of regret. Like you, I also am having trouble with many of these challenges. I guess I think the challenge should be able to be interpreted by the photo without any additional explanation.

    February 11, 2012 at 7:53 am

  3. Great picture and take on theme..:)

    February 11, 2012 at 8:35 am

  4. awesome picture…love it… so you are a pentax user I guess… ^_^

    February 11, 2012 at 8:41 am

    • I shoot, mostly, with a Pentax K20D, but I still keep rolls of film around so that I can shoot with the old K1000 once in a while. It’s nice to go back to the simplicity of an old manual camera.

      February 12, 2012 at 7:53 pm

  5. I love your picture! Beautiful. I love your thoughts on it too – have fun making pristine steps in the new snow. New Year’s Resolutions every day!

    Writing from the Edge
    http://lorely-writingfromtheedge.blogspot.com/2012/02/picture-it-in-your-own-words-3-regret.html

    February 11, 2012 at 11:33 am

  6. Absolutely fabulous, words and picture. Want to say more but you said it all!

    February 11, 2012 at 12:17 pm

  7. Superb outlook on regret. One to keep in mind.

    February 11, 2012 at 3:04 pm

  8. What a beautiful image!

    February 12, 2012 at 3:53 am

  9. Great photo, good insight….

    February 12, 2012 at 6:59 am

  10. This is a great picture and a really interesting description to accompany it. I am really enjoying reading everybody’s different interpretations of what regret is and what it looks like. You’ve really opened my mind with your take on this tough challenge.

    February 12, 2012 at 12:09 pm

  11. love your thoughts on regrets – and I habe to say i love your header…that camera was my first one and I still have it

    February 12, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    • I still shoot with mine. I love the Beast. It’s heavy and totally manual and so fun to shoot photos that you have to wait to see.

      February 12, 2012 at 7:00 pm

      • I am so glad to hear that – I miss film. it is so expensive to develop it here that for now I have to leave her in the camera case…but i do love that camera

        February 12, 2012 at 7:48 pm

      • Really? We’ve still got a couple of places that will develop it for less than $10 and they’ll transfer all the photos to a cd so I’ve got digital copies as well.

        February 12, 2012 at 7:51 pm

      • I wish it were that cheap here – they charge close to $20 for a 24 roll and extra to put it on a CD

        February 12, 2012 at 7:56 pm

  12. stunning photograph, regret is a hard one to photograh

    February 13, 2012 at 12:33 am

    • I thought so too. It’s abstract, but more so than “success” or “grateful”. Also, it’s very personal. What you regret, I might not.

      February 13, 2012 at 1:44 pm

  13. Great shot. Beautiful photograph. I specially like your philosophy. “Don’t live with regrets. Make more angels. Have fun making new steps in pristine snow.”. I am going to remember this.

    February 13, 2012 at 4:55 am

  14. Beautiful photo and writing. Thanks for sharing.

    February 13, 2012 at 9:26 am

    • Your welcome. Thanks for the nice words.

      February 13, 2012 at 1:45 pm

  15. “Don’t live with regrets…” something that hits me. I love the image too.

    February 13, 2012 at 10:10 am

  16. Rick Diffley

    Thanks for taking on the challenge. Nice image and words behind it.

    February 13, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    • Thanks for taking the time to visit.

      February 13, 2012 at 7:18 pm

  17. Nice shot!!

    February 14, 2012 at 6:28 am

  18. Very good analogized philosophy on life…
    But, living with regret, and learning from regret, are as different as the first snow blanketed landscape, and the one melting away.
    Awesome Photo, Beautiful…makes me want to be there.
    God Bless You
    paul

    February 14, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    • Oh, living without learning is hardly living. I have learned from my regrets and moved past living with it. If I spend my time dwelling on past mistakes, I stop looking forward.

      Thanks for visiting.

      February 14, 2012 at 10:14 pm