(mostly) daily photoblog

Are you a bibliophile?

I am a bibliophile.

I like books.  No.  I love books.  I have books in my collection that I’ve not read yet.  There are a few books that I’m really proud of owning:  Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood, a copy from the first printing with dust jacket; the Philip Pullman trilogy, much to the chagrin of some of my friends at church; the entire Bone collection; a former estate collection (donated to the MCC) of hardcover Harvard Classics that include Don Quixote and Crime and Punishment.

I love the smell of old books.  I love the smell of libraries.  I love sitting in the stacks and perusing, not glancing, through books to see if I’m interested.  I could lose hours in bookstores and libraries.

I am a bibliophile.

12 responses

  1. Definitely !!

    February 7, 2012 at 6:03 am

  2. Reblogged this on BABAJI.

    February 7, 2012 at 6:12 am

  3. Good for you. I know how you feel. This year I’m doing a challenge to read a book from every country. As the books arrive from increasingly exotic locations, I can’t help feeling a sense of pride as I watch them pile up on my shelf. Enjoy your books

    February 7, 2012 at 6:31 am

    • Can I make a recommendation or two? I will anyway.

      Look for A Season of Migration to the North by Tayeb Salih and Sons for the Return Home by Albert Wendt. Both are incredibly beautiful. Oh, and Salih is from Sudan and Wendt is from New Zealand (Samoan descent).

      February 7, 2012 at 6:50 am

  4. Christopher Lampton

    I love books. There was a time when I haunted bookstores on a daily basis, bought books at five times the rate I could read them, and filled my shelves with beautiful editions that I could take down each day and fondle, admiring the way they looked and felt and smelled. Then there came a time when it seemed like my book collection owned me more than I owned it, especially when I had to move from one house to another, and I sold it off for several thousand dollars. I still miss it, but in a sense I still have it, stored in the static RAM of a Barnes & Noble Color Nook. I catalog the books lovingly using Calibre, have “covers” for all of them that I can admire as though they were on a shelf, and can carry them with me wherever I think I might have a chance to read — airplanes, doctors’ waiting rooms, Starbucks. I miss having the originals and I don’t visit the libraries and bookstores the way I used to, but times change. Sic transit gloria mundi, I guess.

    February 7, 2012 at 6:40 am

  5. I’m with you! Bookstores and libraries are my temples. I never met a book that didn’t want to come live at my house and now my house looks like a library. There are some unread volumes in my collection as well, but I found a great quote about that posted on the wall of City Lights Bookstore in San Francisco:

    “The buying of more books than one can read is nothing less than the soul reaching toward infinity.” A. Edward Newton

    February 7, 2012 at 6:44 am

    • That’s a great encouragement. Thanks.

      February 7, 2012 at 6:47 am

  6. Agreed i remeber being like 12 and watching beauty and the beast and thinking thisis the coolest girl ever shes obssesed with reading!! Then when the beast gives her the library i cried. Hahah i love books i own tons of them and anytime my kids and i see old bookstores we always stop in and browse for hours.

    I am a bibliophile.

    February 7, 2012 at 10:31 am

    • Admit it proudly and call it out from the mountain tops. I. AM. A. BIBLIOPHILE!

      February 7, 2012 at 1:21 pm

  7. Yeah, not sure I will ever adjust to settling down for a cozy read on a cold kindle. I love the smell of ink, and paper too much.

    February 7, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    • My problem with an “e-reader” is that it will hurt a lot more when I doze off while reading and hit myself in the face. As it is, the rude awakening that occurs when I hit myself with a book is painful enough. Plus, there’s that musty, inky, aging paper smell that I will never get over.

      February 7, 2012 at 1:22 pm

  8. The most decadent room I have in our house is our library. I value the efficiency of an e-reader, but for me, reading is as much a tactile experience as it is for disseminating information and ideas. Great post – from one proud bibliophile to another!

    February 8, 2012 at 7:21 am