(mostly) daily photoblog

It seems I’ve gone back to the Prairies

I grew up in Saskatchewan.  Well, until I was fourteen, that is.  I lived on a farm outside of a village called Osler, about 35 kilometers north of Saskatoon.  The landscape is as flat as you can imagine and the snowdrifts are colossal.

The drive home, yesterday, was not horrible, but certainly reminded me of my youthful days.  The mountains disappeared behind a wall of snow and the prairie came alive in front of me.  I even managed to get a photo of a pickup truck – the official vehicle of the Saskatchewan farm.

5 responses

  1. Chloe

    haha ‘slower traffic keep right’ … here, right is the fast lane 🙂
    how funny

    i can’t really imagine how this would be, living with snow all around, cold.. lol

    January 18, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    • I wish I could just imagine it, but we’ve got what’s called “arctic outflow winds” right now that are taking the temperature, which is -13 degrees celsius down to -25 with the wind chill. It looks like we’ve got a few days more of this to deal with. Yay!

      As for the “Slower Traffic”, we’re all in that classification, as drifting snow is causing total whiteout conditions in places. Instead of 100 km/hr, we’re crawling along at around 65 km/hr. Fun times.

      I just really liked the sign and the landscape.

      January 18, 2012 at 6:58 pm

  2. Robyn G

    I really enjoy these amazing ‘flat’ photos.
    Fabulous subject matter and great depth of field.

    January 18, 2012 at 8:00 pm

  3. fabulous picture 🙂

    January 19, 2012 at 12:02 am

  4. Last week I heard a repeat of an interview w William Shatner and he mentioned Saskatoon purely bc it was fun to say. Before that I had never heard of it. Now I have a visual for the fun name! Great shot

    January 19, 2012 at 6:32 pm