(mostly) daily photoblog

Driving in the Fraser Valley is less than ideal.

This is what it looked like to drive to work this morning.  My school, and district, had a snow day but the teachers did not have the day off, so off I went.  My friend and colleague, Kris, and I drove to work in his truck.  It was kind of nice, if treacherous.  I’m not looking forward to going to school tomorrow as the weather and roads haven’t really changed, but I guess I’ll wait and see how everything turns out.

On the way home, we were treated to the undercarriage of a semi-truck and an overturned Ford Explorer.  The safety gear stood out nicely against the snow.

How’s the winter driving for you?  I hope it’s better than this.

8 responses

  1. Rachel

    Sure is beautiful though.

    January 17, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    • Yeah. Beautiful and dangerous. There’s little better in the world than that combination.

      January 17, 2012 at 9:54 pm

  2. love that first shot, it’s gorgeous
    too bad for the second photo

    January 18, 2012 at 12:42 am

  3. Kevin Alexander

    I hope the drivers were ok.

    January 18, 2012 at 3:57 am

    • Me too. The chaos that ensues around here when snow falls means that there are rarely any clear details about anyone. In the past two days I’ve seen four cars upside-down and two on their sides in the ditches along the highway. And that’s in a 25 kilometer span. A little prayer escapes my brain every time I pass a vehicle like that.

      January 18, 2012 at 5:26 am

  4. We have been telling the people here about your weather and they just stand there in disbelief…
    how could it be so cold although they like the thought of seeing snow for the first time!
    Take care….

    January 18, 2012 at 4:21 am

  5. Reblogged this on Black bird and commented:
    I wish this would happen in Lisbon. I love seeing snow.

    January 21, 2012 at 11:40 am

    • I love seeing it too. I just really don’t like driving in it.

      January 21, 2012 at 12:39 pm