(mostly) daily photoblog

WordPress Photo Challenge: Self Portrait

I am not one who likes to put himself in front of the camera.

In front of a crowd?  Yes.

In front of a classroom?  Yes.

In front of my peers?  Sure.

In front of my elders?  You bet.

In front of small children?  Why not.

In front of the camera?  I’d prefer not.

So this week’s WordPress Photo Challenge was more of a personal challenge for me than a photographic one.  In response, here is a collage of things that make up me.  Consider it a self-portrait, of sorts, please.  If you need an explanation of any of it, please ask.

16 responses

  1. Great entry for this week topic 🙂

    December 18, 2011 at 12:50 am

  2. I was thinking of things that represent me rather than me. I like this very much!

    December 18, 2011 at 3:52 am

    • If I had a week to put this together, I still couldn’t come up with everything that represents me. I left out any representation of my family. I left out academia, although the glasses are sort of symbolic of that. Still, it seems like a fairly accurate, although incomplete, me.

      December 18, 2011 at 9:26 am

  3. this is a great self portrait! very revealing 🙂

    December 18, 2011 at 9:28 am

    • I think it captures something about me. I hope not too revealing. I think a little mystery is good.

      December 18, 2011 at 9:58 am

  4. nice 🙂

    December 18, 2011 at 11:17 am

  5. I like it! What a great perspective on “self-portrait”. Well done!

    December 18, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    • Thanks. I’d love to say it’s because I’m creative, but it has more to do with how I see myself in photos.

      December 18, 2011 at 2:44 pm

  6. With you all the way on this one but I love how you interpreted the challenge which was such a tough one for exactly those points of yours.

    December 18, 2011 at 5:05 pm

  7. Great post.

    December 18, 2011 at 8:02 pm

  8. Pingback: Wordpress Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait | I Choose Happy Now

  9. jbheronneau

    Really original…
    Great job 🙂

    http://jibsphotography.wordpress.com/2011/12/20/christmas-fairy/

    December 20, 2011 at 11:44 am

  10. Ohh what a wonderful graphical composition 🙂 It tells so much about you that it is avtually better than any plain face portrait. Kudos!
    Greetings from Switzerland,
    – Pierre

    December 21, 2011 at 1:25 am

  11. Creative self-portrait. Interesting.

    December 21, 2011 at 7:36 pm