(mostly) daily photoblog

Monitor Igloo!

This photograph is the cause of probably one of my happiest school-based moments in the past few weeks.

I went to discuss something with my colleague who is in charge of our IT department.  He wasn’t in the room – sick day or something – so I went through to the back room where old, dead monitors and computer towers go to die.  The room had served as a graveyard of sorts for all of the defunct computers and accessories from the entire school.  They were being collected to be properly recycled.  Due to the more immediate technological problems in our school system, many of our dead monitors had not been picked up, so my colleague decided to build an igloo out of them.

I laughed.  I guffawed.  I chuckled.  The only thing I wish was that it was hollow and that I could have climbed inside.  Instead, I went out to my car, grabbed my camera and snapped some shots.

3 responses

  1. We did something very simmilar … it took us almost two years to have them picked up 😦

    December 14, 2011 at 4:40 am

    • A sad comment on the education system. And we complain that students hand things in late.

      December 14, 2011 at 10:06 am

  2. Rachel

    Is that a little Apple computer I see?
    I used one of those in 1986…grade 7 I believe!

    December 14, 2011 at 5:16 pm