(mostly) daily photoblog

WordPress Photo Challenge: Celebration

I went through photos of fireworks and birthday cakes, sparklers and candles.  Then I found this photo.  I posted a very similar version of this a few years ago when my family traveled to Disneyland for the first time.  My wife and I had both been before, but we took our kids for the first time.  The experience was amazing.  My son and daughter were the proverbial “kids in a candy store”.  They didn’t know where to look first.  They wanted to ride everything, see everything, experience everything.

By the end of the first day in Disneyland, the kids were exhausted but excited.  They wanted to sleep but did not want to leave.  As the fireworks were about to start to end the day, we came across this ride:  The Astro Orbitor.  My son and daughter stood, transfixed by the streaks of light.  The only words were, “Awesome,” and, “Amazing.”  It was a celebration of everything we’d done that day.  One long party ending with a light show.

14 responses

  1. Great capture! Colors are great. Congrats.

    December 10, 2011 at 8:25 am

  2. Phantasmagorical!!!

    December 10, 2011 at 10:01 am

  3. Amar Naik

    great photos

    December 10, 2011 at 10:40 am

  4. Nando

    I REALLY like this photo! I now know what this is, especially after returning from Disney World for the first time two weeks ago with my 9-year old daughter.

    December 10, 2011 at 11:58 am

    • Thanks very much.

      December 10, 2011 at 4:15 pm

  5. Great Colors Nice shot 🙂

    December 10, 2011 at 11:52 pm

  6. The colours are just beautiful – wow!!

    PS I’ve given you a blog award .. pop over to my site for more info 🙂
    MJ

    December 11, 2011 at 8:50 am

    • Thanks. That’s very sweet.

      December 11, 2011 at 9:16 am

  7. Nice take on the challenge 🙂

    December 11, 2011 at 11:56 am

  8. stunning photo – love it

    December 11, 2011 at 12:38 pm

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Celebration | lifeofaphoenix

  10. Amazing photo, such brilliant colours!

    December 13, 2011 at 5:33 am

  11. Gorgeous and vibrant color shot 🙂 Thank you for sharing it with us 🙂
    Greetings from Switzerland,
    – Pierre

    December 15, 2011 at 5:47 am

    • Thanks very much, from British Columbia, Canada.

      December 15, 2011 at 10:03 am