(mostly) daily photoblog

Firenze: Santa Croce

Given my recent obsession with Assassin’s Creed II, I went to my photos from a few years ago and went through my photos of Firenze (Florence), Italy.  While going through them, I found this photo of the Basilica di Santa Croce, or Church of the Holy Cross.  It’s a pretty spectacular building.  I didn’t go inside it, but the facade is incredibly impressive.

I didn’t go in, by the way, because we were on our way to a wine, bread, olive and truffle oils tasting that was set up by our guide.  The lemon olive oil was so good, I bought a bottle.  I’m pretty sure that I was overwhelmed by the constant barrage of incredible architectures and sights, so I focused on getting to the tasting rather than enjoying the sights.  Too bad.

This shot was taken from the top of the Duomo.  It certainly evokes great memories.

6 responses

  1. Wow. Extravagant detail there. Exceptional!

    December 8, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    • Thanks. It’s really hard to play with depth of field when everything begs to be in focus.

      December 8, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  2. Rachel

    That. is. lovely.

    December 8, 2011 at 7:34 pm

  3. Our youngest loves that game and I have found myself, more than once, standing behind him to watch as the character in the game leaps from rooftop to street. The detail in Assasins Creed is incredible. The beauty in your photo is extraordinary! I could just sit and look at it … a trip there is in order!
    MJ

    December 9, 2011 at 3:42 am

  4. Yay Assassin’s Creed!! Beautiful shot. I remember the Basilica and can’t wait to go to Italy some day

    December 10, 2011 at 9:15 pm