(mostly) daily photoblog

Video Games: obsession? addiction? educational?

I’ve been playing Assassin’s Creed II lately.  I’ve been playing it a lot.  It’s great.  What I’m enjoying about the game is that I get to play in Firenze, Italy.  I’ve also played in Venezia, but it’s Florence (Firenze) of which I’m most enamored because a few years ago I had the joy of visiting the city.  I’m feeling a significant emotional attachment to the game because I’ve been to the city.  Is that weird?

While there, I climbed the 463 stairs to the top of the Duomo and, while there, snapped some shots of the city and the surrounding area.  The photo above is shot from atop the Duomo with Giotto’s Campanile on the left.  If you’ve played the game, you’ve climbed the Campanile (bell tower) as one of the viewpoints in the game.   The reason I’m posting this is that I’ve climbed this in real life and in the game.  Mind you, in the game, it is the late 15th Century and the city looks a little different, but the roof-line shown above is one with which I’ve become familiar with in-game.

Why I’m posting this today?  I feel that maybe I should write about it and then the obsession will dissipate.  Of course, now that I’ve pulled out the photos from four years ago, I’m probably going to be more interested in the game.  Ooh…irony…you’re not very nice.

 

3 responses

  1. Assassin’s Creed. I didn’t even have to read it. Awesome Pic.

    December 8, 2011 at 9:01 am

  2. I’ve been to Venice and Rome but not Florence. I have the same feelings as you when playing AC2 and 3. Sadly most of the photos I took when I was visiting those cities weren’t great. I need to go back!

    December 10, 2011 at 9:01 am

    • I think I might have a problem keeping myself from climbing buildings and running on rooftops.

      December 10, 2011 at 10:21 am