(mostly) daily photoblog

Would anyone like to move here?

The big mountain just to the right of center is Mount Cheam.  Next, to the right, are Mounts Archibald and Mercer and then Mount Thurston to the far right.  I drive home looking directly at these mountains every day, when it’s not raining or foggy.

When I was in Montreal last year, I had a few people ask me where I lived.  My answer was, “British Columbia.”

“Is it all mountains and rivers?”

“No.  No, it’s not all mountains and rivers.”

“Well, where do you live?”

“Chilliwack.”

“And what’s that like?”

“Um…I live about 500 meters from a river and about 600 meters from a mountain.”

“Is it beautiful?”

“Yeah.  It really is.”

So, anyone want to move out here?

7 responses

  1. I suppose you could grow used to it but I’d have a hard time driving, what with all the starin’ and all.
    😉 M J

    December 1, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    • Ha! The first couple times, especially after the first snowfall, it’s hard to concentrate. You do, unfortunately, get used to it.

      December 1, 2011 at 8:23 pm

  2. Charlotte Lehman

    WOW, that is beautiful! Great photo!

    December 1, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    • Yeah, it’s a pretty nice backdrop to everyday life around here.

      December 1, 2011 at 8:22 pm

  3. Rachel

    How did you find out the names of the mountains around Cheam?
    I would like to know the name of the huge beautiful mountain you can see as you drive north down Clearbrook Road or Trethewey…..do you know?

    December 1, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    • I’ve often wondered the same thing. I have no idea.

      I found the names of the mountains near Cheam through Google Earth.

      December 1, 2011 at 8:23 pm

  4. As I was looking through your blog, I was going to comment on one of the beautiful black & white photographs before this one, but then I read the caption of this one and figured this was the one. My last name is Archibald! Who knew I shared the name with a mountain!

    Great blog! I enjoyed it!

    December 5, 2011 at 8:42 pm