(mostly) daily photoblog

Here’s my NOON hour food prep

I roasted a turkey today.  My family was coming over and my parents are leaving in three days for Guatemala for six months.  They started working there years ago and have formed their own missions organization, Love Guatemala, wherein they show love to people through meeting practical needs – housing, water filters, clinics.  We (kind of) had Christmas today, as they’ll be away when Christmas actually occurs.  I’ll miss them a lot, so it felt right to do a big family dinner.  I made roasted potatoes, carrots and parsnips, stuffing and gravy.

So, I roasted a turkey today.  I like to cook and doing a turkey is fun.  I know, that makes me weird.  What you see above are the herbs that were combined with garlic and olive oil and then massaged into the bird, under the skin and then over.  The oil adds a nice golden-ness to the turkey.  The herbs are Italian parsley (I’m not sure what makes it Italian), thyme, rosemary, and sage.  I love fresh herbs and the chopping is particularly satisfying.  Something about wielding a big knife that appeals to the neanderthal in me.

Oh, and this week’s Photo Friday Challenge is “Noon“.  Seeing as I was chopping these around noon in order to get the turkey ready for dinner, I thought this might meet the challenge.

6 responses

  1. TechieChef

    join my website and post your recipes to a wider audience http://www.chefdehome.com

    November 20, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    • I totally would, except that I cribbed this recipe from Giada and Jamie. It’s a little bit of both, plus a dash of me, but not a very original recipe. Thanks for the vote of confidence, though.

      November 20, 2011 at 9:33 pm

  2. I subscribed to your parents blog…strange this is something that interests me very, very much! Sorry that you will not be spending the holidays together but glad you could enjoy some early celebration before they leave.

    November 20, 2011 at 10:16 pm

  3. Great photo, I love the sharp green

    November 21, 2011 at 12:14 am

  4. Chloe

    yummo!

    November 21, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    • Ohhh…you should have tasted it. It was good.

      November 21, 2011 at 7:30 pm