(mostly) daily photoblog

Why is it that a day off is more exhausting than a day at work?

Seriously.  Is it because I’ve been holding on all week, only to crash on a full day away from work?

Is it because driving from the library to Future Shop to the produce market to the supermarket is inherently tiring?

Is it that I have much more time to over-think things to the point of exhaustion?

Here’s a photo that has nothing to do with what I’ve written.  Ha!  Take that, logical sequences of thought.

9 responses

  1. Really like the picture .. and to answer your question, I think it is all of the above 🙂

    November 19, 2011 at 5:37 pm

  2. Hey Marc!
    I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a blog award. I love your sense of humor and your photos and believe your blog deserves recognition.
    If you check out my post:
    http://loriannfranks.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/my-first-blog-nomination/

    Then we can let the happy dance commence.

    November 19, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    • Thanks very much. I’ll make sure to pass it on.

      November 19, 2011 at 7:21 pm

  3. There is a lesson in what you have written and there is purpose in the photograph! I didn’t see them as separate. We all work and live in a mad fast world. Forgive me for saying this but to me it is clear that you find happiness and peace with your family. The photograph is about peace, stillness, contemplation, hope, tranquility, nature and your son could even be meditating! It’s a great shot. The line of the coat hem is even in line with the reflections of the hills. The composition, be it a spontaneous shot or carefully considered works so well. You should be happy that you have a brilliant shot for the family album. One that your son will love for years to come and one that will remind him that dad is a great photographer. The photo is very personal and you put it out on the internet. It’s good to share stuff but I’d say some of these moments are family moments. Between the frustration of your words and the wonder of your photograph is a place that brings you great joy. Don’t feel compelled to publish stuff that is precious and special. Don’t let the speed of this mad world or the internet distract you from the things that we should treasure. Take my comments any way you wish but value the moments you capture with your camera and keep them close to your heart not in a photograph or on the internet. The world we all spend so much time working so hard to maintain can takre its toll. Nuff said, I’ll shut up now. I’m sure I’ve said too much but I guess I was moved to comment and I guess if you put this stuff out there then you get whatever comes back. Your photographs are great and I really enjoy your work. Best wishes…

    November 19, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    • I got a little misty for a moment. Thanks very much. You’ve summed up a lot of what’s going on in my head.

      As for personal moments, I try to keep most of them with me. The photos I put out there for others to see are ones that I feel are worth sharing. Plus, if readers understand, as you did, that family is incredibly important to me, then it’s all worth it.

      Thanks for sharing.

      November 19, 2011 at 7:21 pm

  4. elmediat

    Beautiful composition and your post is so true. Sometimes I need a long weekend to get over my long weekend.

    November 19, 2011 at 7:00 pm

  5. It looks like a psed picture.

    November 20, 2011 at 5:00 am

    • Is there such a thing as a non-processed, or non photoshopped, photo?

      November 20, 2011 at 9:26 am

  6. I love that his eyes are closed … and I relate with you on the best laid plans for weekends. We have deliberately started to “load our plates” during the week (IE pickup groceries on a Friday night so as to not have to go anywhere on a Saturday = decadence!). Hubbs and I enjoyed a lazy, putzy weekend at home… I did step out for 30 min yesterday and the stores were manic, people had that rush/rush look and I was able to smile, pick up 2 things and leave the store humming.

    Cheers! MJ

    November 20, 2011 at 8:40 am