(mostly) daily photoblog

Here’s my son, in colour this time (and yes, I’m Canadian)

I was asked yesterday what the photo of my son would look like in colour.  So I processed one of him, intently checking out a Star Wars/Transformers toy in his hands while sitting on a dock at Cultus Lake.  I had to monkey with the contrast in curves and definitely played with Burn and Dodge because I really shot this with black and white in mind.  I hope you like it.

p.s.  It occurred to me that my horizon was totally crap yesterday.  I don’t know how I missed that.

p.p.s.  Also, we add a “u” to a number of words here in Canada, hence the “u” in color.  Colour.  Same word.  Different spelling.

6 responses

  1. Beautiful photo and just full of colour!
    (and I’m Canadian, too … )

    Cheers! MJ

    November 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    • Hooray for fellow Canucks. Thanks for the nice words.

      November 13, 2011 at 3:31 pm

  2. This is a great photo, the line of yellow trees angling down to meet the line of the dock works really well.

    I would suggest that us Canadians keep the “u” in various words rather than add them – the Americans have chosen to drop them from the older spellings, we leave them the way the British spell them.

    November 13, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    • Amen, Canuck Bro!

      November 13, 2011 at 3:51 pm

  3. Even I learned colour with “u” in India. But Microsoft has turned me to spell it as color ever since I started writing only using computers 🙂

    November 14, 2011 at 10:37 am

  4. elmediat

    Great shot. Just colour us Canadian.

    November 17, 2011 at 8:17 pm