(mostly) daily photoblog

WordPress Photo Challenge: Windows

WordPress’ photo challenge this week is “Windows“.  I went hunting through old photos for windows and found all kinds of photos, but nothing really stood out until I found this one of the Academic Quadrangle at Simon Fraser University.  I think this pretty much meets the challenge.

I included a few of my favorite quotations about windows.  I hope you like it.

 

“A house without books is like a room without windows. No man has a right to bring up his children without surrounding them with books, if he has the means to buy them.”

“Never have more children than you have car windows.”

“The whole purpose of education is to turn mirrors into windows.”

9 responses

  1. Northern Narratives

    An interesting building. I love your quotations!

    November 6, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    • Yeah, it’s been used as a set for a whole bunch of movies and t.v. shows. It has been used as the FBI headquarters in “X-Files” and in the movie “The Day the Earth Stood Still.” It’s been used on “Stargate” a lot and is the place where I did my education courses to become a teacher. This area, the “Quad”, was often shut down for filming and was often chosen because of its “interesting-ness”.

      November 6, 2011 at 9:31 pm

  2. ‘I think this pretty much meets the challenge.’

    It does.

    Its being in B & W shows its FBI-ishness, too. 🙂

    November 7, 2011 at 12:40 am

  3. awesome lines in this shot

    November 7, 2011 at 1:07 am

  4. B&W was a great choice for this pic..
    cool click..

    November 7, 2011 at 3:00 am

  5. this certainly meets the challenge

    November 7, 2011 at 11:32 am

  6. jbheronneau

    I like the building… I also very like the shoes 🙂

    November 7, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    • They’re my son’s shoes on a dock at a lake near here. I also very like them.

      November 7, 2011 at 2:52 pm

  7. What a neat building! Love the tone of this capture. Nice!

    November 7, 2011 at 10:20 pm