(mostly) daily photoblog

Sky on Fire

I figure that, when taking photos, luck and observation take equal parts.

Observation takes some practice.  As a photographer, I’m learning to notice things that most people don’t.  Whether it’s the aperture and shutter speed on my camera, or the detail in a car’s grill, I’ve been trying to take close notice of everything that gets overlooked in everyday life.

Luck, however, is often the difference between finding and not finding a subject.  Tonight, as I was helping my daughter finish carving a pumpkin, I noticed that the houses behind ours had an odd glow.  I ran into the front room and pulled the blinds up to find the sunset was lighting the clouds on fire.  It was incredible.  Ten minutes later, it was gone.  If I hadn’t looked up at the time I did, I would have missed it.  Lucky me.

Photography:  50% observation, 50% luck.

9 responses

  1. Wonderful photo, the mountains looming out of the clouds really sets it off. Particularly like the tufted clouds turning the street lamps into bug’s eyes ! The same thing happened with me last year. It was the aftermath of hurricane Igor, I happened to look out the front window, and the trees across the street were all glowing orange. I grabbed my camera and went out to grab some pics, and when I turned to face east, my jaw hit the ground when I saw this; http://agoldenstream.blogspot.com/2010/10/talent-is-god-given.html
    It lasted for only ten minutes, before the clouds turned a dark storm-grey and the moment was over. If I hadn’t have looked out when I did, I would have missed a truly awe-inspiring sky

    October 30, 2011 at 7:38 pm

  2. Very nice!

    http://kalafels.wordpress.com/

    October 30, 2011 at 11:56 pm

  3. Great shot and good reason to always have a camera with you at all times!
    Here’s a sky on fire photo which looks like the building is ablaze. It’s a bit spooky when you read the little bit of writing about the blitz. That is how the sky was – some peopel think I edited the sky onto the building but like yourself I just happened to be in the right place at the right time… It was taken in winter with low early morning sunlight and unusual cloud cover. Lhttp://wp.me/pLv5Y-da
    I’m enjoying your daily photos…

    October 31, 2011 at 2:31 am

  4. The link shouldn’t have a “L” in front of it. Don’t know where that came from. Here it is again http://wp.me/pLv5Y-da

    October 31, 2011 at 2:32 am

  5. Amazing

    October 31, 2011 at 3:42 am

  6. kdf62

    Awsome

    October 31, 2011 at 9:57 am

  7. Great Photo!!! It really is beautiful.

    October 31, 2011 at 10:09 pm

  8. incredible sunset

    November 1, 2011 at 5:21 pm