(mostly) daily photoblog

Claustrophobic nightmare…or romantic Titanic moment?

Welcome to the bottom deck of a BC Ferry.  We had the pleasure of attending my brother-in-law’s wedding in Victoria, BC last weekend.  I hadn’t been to Victoria since the last time we attended a wedding there, back in 1995.  I forgot what it’s like to travel on the ferry to get to Vancouver Island.

The ride over, from Tsawassen to the island, was on the upper deck of the Coastal Celebration.  We stayed in the car and watched the Gulf Islands slide by.  I got out and took some shots of some of the islands and vistas.  It was quite nice.

We ended up on the lower deck on the way home.  Once the ferry is full, the doors close and the bottom deck is completely closed up.  And…that’s when the claustrophobia settled in.  I’m not claustrophobic, normally, but my mind flashed back to one of the most insipid movies I’ve ever seen:  Titanic.  I was sitting on the lower deck thinking of the steerage passengers who had no chance of survival once the water started in and none of them had a clue that it was coming.  Oh sure, my mind could have traveled back to the beauty of Kate Winslet, or a certain sweaty moment…in a car…on the lower deck of the ship.  I was in a car on the lower deck of a boat with my wife.  That’s where my mind could have gone.

But it didn’t.  It went to, “Hey!  If this thing starts to sink, we won’t even know.”

Thanks, stupid brain.  Thanks a lot.

Click on the photo above, btw, if you want to see it in more detail.

6 responses

  1. nelson RN

    I haven’t experienced this kind of travel, and I’m not looking forward too. Hehehe. Anyways, u got very cool pics! Thanks for sharing!

    October 22, 2011 at 11:22 pm

  2. Nice post thanks for sharing 🙂

    October 23, 2011 at 1:14 am

  3. Northern Narratives

    That is great 🙂

    October 23, 2011 at 1:12 pm

  4. You really captured the claustrophobic aspect of the experience. I remember this scene from riding the ferry myself when I was younger.

    October 25, 2011 at 7:36 am

    • Thanks very much. I am not that claustrophobic, but the feeling that there is no escape is not comforting.

      October 25, 2011 at 6:58 pm

  5. Great shots! The pleasures of island bliss!

    October 26, 2011 at 5:46 am