(mostly) daily photoblog

Does this mean I’m an adult?

I made a concerted effort this summer to mature my wardrobe.

Here’s the back-story:  I’m a high school teacher.  I like witty and obscure references.  I make witty and obscure references.  My wardrobe, for many years, has reflected this.  I’m a huge fan of Threadlesssuperheroes and anything else that amuses me.  These shirts have been married to Gap Jeans and sports coats.  A mix of professional and nerdy youthfulness.

But this summer?  I made the move toward mature. I bought button front shirts (they are also “button-down” – button-down refers to the collar points being buttoned down) and have been pairing them with jeans and brown, black and navy pants (that’s three different pairs of pants – not all in one).  I’ve even been putting on a tie two or three days a week.

Here’s the fun parts.  One, I’ve never had so many people comment on my clothing choices.  Two, I’m falling in love with my iron.  T-shirts don’t require ironing, but all of my dress shirts?  They need a little steamy help.  Today’s photo is of my new, hot little number and one of the many new, more mature shirts I’ve been wearing.

4 responses

  1. oh, a classy teacher….like we used to have many, many, years ago……
    don’t forget the plaid shirt!!!

    October 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm

  2. I always thought adulthood was the instant you stopped caring if everyone knows you like comics and cartoons.
    Then again, I continually redefine the word “adulthood” so it applies to me, so what do I know?

    October 11, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    • Ha! It was a weird switch in my brain. I’m not the least bit worried about what others think of me. That said, it’s been interesting to hear what others say when they see me “all dressed up”.

      October 12, 2011 at 10:00 am

  3. Love the picture, so simple yet so nice! Good quality too 🙂

    October 16, 2011 at 9:36 am