(mostly) daily photoblog

Bring our yer dead!

Ah, Monty Python.

As for the photo, that’s a lot of dead fish that are washing up on the sandbar after they’ve spawned.  As you can imagine, it smells awesome.  Awesome like a dumpster in hot sunlight.

That guy on the sandbar was among the dozens of other guys out on the river.  You can check out yesterday’s photo to see the numbers.

I grew up in Saskatchewan and my grandfather used to take me fishing on his boat on Weyakwin Lake.  It was beautiful.  This is a lot more crowded (both with other fishermen and dead fish) than what I grew up with and I think I’ll keep my memories, rather than replace them with bad smells and claustrophobia.

2 responses

  1. Other possible Python references for this post – “The Fish-slapping dance” ?? “Eric the Halibut” ??
    Cool shot

    October 12, 2011 at 8:49 am

    • Those are great. Not sure why I didn’t think of them.

      October 12, 2011 at 10:00 am