(mostly) daily photoblog

Welcome to British Columbia…

…hope it’s not too crowded out there for you.

Actually, this is the Vedder Canal, just a little west of Chilliwack, BC.  It has been lined with fishermen…fisherpeople?…for the last few weeks, from dawn to dusk.  I drive over the Keith Wilson Bridge, which crosses the Vedder Canal, every morning to get to work and there have been very few days where I’ve beat these guys to the river.

The worst part of this photo is the smell, which you should be thankful you can’t experience.  The river right now is full of dead fish who’ve spawned and died.  The river’s edge is lined with carcasses.  Yum.

If you can get past the smell, the scenery is pretty nice and the barbecued salmon you’d be eating after a day at the river would be pretty delicious.  Come on over.  BC’s pretty nice.

10 responses

  1. BC is just so damn beautiful. It just should not be fair. 🙂 Great shot! And I love the perspective. But glad i can’t smell the scene. 🙂

    October 8, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    • BC is “damn beautiful”. On sunny October days, it’s easy to forget all the rainy, misty, damp days. Thanks for the nice words.

      October 8, 2011 at 7:19 pm

  2. Such a beautiful shot at a beautiful location. Would love to visit . . . when the fish are not spawning and dead in the river! Ha!!! But bbq’d salmon sounds mighty fine to me! 🙂

    October 8, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    • With a little garlic, lime juice and olive oil smothered over the whole thing and then bbq’d on a cedar plank. I think I might have a lunch idea for tomorrow.

      Thanks, again, for the nice words.

      October 8, 2011 at 9:48 pm

  3. Beautiful photograph. My family was thinking about visiting your country for a vacation next year.

    October 8, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    • Where are you considering going? I’ve been to every province but the Maritimes and I love them all. I visited Quebec last Autumn and I was incredibly impressed. I grew up in Saskatchewan, so its flatness still has a familiar feel to me. BC, however, is worth the flight or drive or train ride. From the Rocky Mountains to Shuswap Lake to the Okanagan Valley to the Peace River in the north to the Fraser Valley to Vancouver Island, it’s all gorgeous.

      If you are planning on coming out to the West Coast, let me know, because I can give you some idea as to what you might want to see.

      October 8, 2011 at 9:46 pm

  4. Nice! Reminds me of a bicycle trip I once did up the coast to Vancouver island. There was a fishing festival going on in one of the northern towns on the island, but I can’t quite remember the name. .Anyway I took the ferry to Price Rupert and then biked across Canada. Beautiful picture!

    October 9, 2011 at 4:33 am

    • Wow. Sounds amazing.

      October 9, 2011 at 4:29 pm

  5. IDK about the smell but I love the blueness of Vedder Canal in this photo 😀

    October 9, 2011 at 10:43 am

  6. Kerry

    SO beautiful!!!!

    October 9, 2011 at 11:55 am