(mostly) daily photoblog

Freaks and geeks…

I managed to get out and shoot some street art today.  Despite not feeling well and waking up far too early (4:07 a.m.  Really?  Stupid brain…go back to sleep at that hour) I ran some stairs and then went for a quick photographic adventure.

I will post, in the next few days, the actual route that I take to get to this underpass.  It sits under the Trans-Canada highway and houses two lines of rail.  It also houses some of our city’s homeless, who’ve taken refuge at the upper parts of the berms that hold up the highway.  It also, conveniently, is just around the corner from Wal-Mart.

Lately, I’ve come to use the term “freak” quite often, so when I found this I had to shoot it.  Not the prettiest photo, but definitely a statement.  What’s it saying to you?

 

7 responses

  1. i use freak a bit too; nice shot it’s very grungy – thats what i love about raw street art

    October 4, 2011 at 1:40 am

  2. Nice! Quick question… how is your development process since I see you post everyday. I can’t see to find the time to do it. :\

    October 4, 2011 at 7:02 am

    • I take photos when I can; then process as many as I can in one night. That way I can post four or five in a row without any processing.

      I do very little processing – shoot in raw; adjust the white balance; then in Photoshop I adjust the curves and levels. It’s become second nature. I know it sounds like a bunch of processing, but it’s really very little in comparison to what could be done. I try to take a good photo, then make it look the way I saw it.

      October 4, 2011 at 7:42 pm

  3. I love the TV show Freaks and Geeks, and love this pic! Very cool shot

    October 4, 2011 at 11:30 am

    • Thanks very much. I try, and sometimes succeed.

      October 4, 2011 at 7:43 pm

  4. Very nice perspective shots!

    October 6, 2011 at 7:02 pm

  5. chinesetea2

    that’s amazing~~
    Good days give you joy while bad days give you experience. So never regret every single day of your life!

    October 7, 2011 at 7:10 am