(mostly) daily photoblog

As skinny as a rail…

… is pretty skinny.  I was thinking, as I processed this photo, of all of the phrases that we use that involves “rail”.  Here’s a few of my favorites:

1.  “As skinny as a rail.”  I once knew a guy who was 6’5″ and about 155 pounds.  I watched him swing a bowling ball into the side of his knee and nearly incapacitate himself.  He was skinny.  We used to joke that if he ever broke a limb, we could just hold him up to the light and check on it.

2.  “It drives like it’s on rails.”  I’ll be honest.  I remember this from the movie “Pretty Woman”.  Julia Roberts is an unlikely hooker who meets Richard Gere, who can’t drive his Lotus at all.  Apparently he was never taught to drive standard.  Sad.  Anyway, she gets in and shows him how to drive his car (no pun intended).  I need to make sure that I include that I watched this movie on DVD and very much against my will.  I think my wife made me watch it.  I will never get those two hours back.

3.  “Ride him out on a rail.”  I don’t know what this means, but it seems to mean sending someone away against their will.  Sounds like a phrase I should use more often.

Do you have any favorites?

 

8 responses

  1. Fantastic picture!!!! What camera did you use??

    October 2, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    • I shoot with a Pentax K20D. As for the lens, I’m not sure what I used. Given the clarity, I’m guessing it was one of the classic Pentax lenses I’ve got – 28mm, f2.8, maybe? I’m sure it was shot at a higher aperture than 2.8, but it was probably that lens.

      October 2, 2011 at 7:54 pm

  2. Great image, leading lines and all that Blah blah blah 🙂 Excellent work.

    October 3, 2011 at 12:02 am

  3. Chloe [Photographer]

    ah pretty woman, such a good movie.

    superb photograph, i love the composition and the leading lines

    October 4, 2011 at 1:50 am

    • I’m a big fan of lines that lead you through the photo.

      October 4, 2011 at 7:43 pm

  4. I like the misty feeling in this picture. Nice B/W work. My latest photo post is a winter shot.
    http://cardinalguzman.wordpress.com/2011/10/07/photo-cold-water/

    October 6, 2011 at 10:54 pm

  5. chinesetea2

    Be alike flower. Spread beauty and happiness wherever you stay; irrespective of your surroundings.

    October 7, 2011 at 7:09 am