(mostly) daily photoblog

Where do you get your coffee?

I don’t drink coffee.  This has been a source of incredulity my entire professional life.  I am a teacher.  Therefore, I must drink coffee.  But I don’t.  Or can’t.

It’s not like I haven’t tried.  I would love a source of warm caffeine that is not as sugar-laden as my Coca Cola addiction.  So, every time my wife orders something from Starbucks, I try some of her Cinnamon Dolce Latte, or Pumpkin Spice Latte, or Cafe Mocha, or whatever.  And every time I do, I regret it.  All I can taste is the coffee.  Or, rather, all I can taste at the end of the sip is the coffee.  The first flavor is usually pleasing enough, but then the coffee steps in and smacks me around.  My palate will not acquiesce.

I was reading Howard Schultz’s book Onward and Schultz describes the process and conversation over espresso so well that he had me convinced that I should try it.  My friends all warned me off, however, knowing that I don’t drink regular coffee so why did I think that I would like the concentrated version of the stuff.  Honestly, I feel as though I’m missing out on this great culture of coffee and a small part of me is jealous of people who have a refined enough taste to discern the difference from one type of coffee to another.

The photo above was taken in Montreal at one of the many Cafe Depot locations.  It is one of many places of the coffee culture of which I am an outsider.

2 responses

  1. Rachel

    I don’t drink coffee either. The closest I’ll get is a mocha!

    September 26, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    • Really? All I can taste is the coffee in a mocha. Weird.

      September 27, 2011 at 5:33 pm