(mostly) daily photoblog

Beauty in Decay

A couple of days ago a friend of mine came to speak at my school.  She was awesome.  She said a lot of things our girls needed to hear.  When I was saying farewell to her, a cool breeze blew through the school’s parking lot and thousands of leaves all flew off the surrounding trees.  Kate looked at me and said, “I think Fall just started.  Right now.  Right here.”  I laughed, but since then the leaves have been falling off all the trees around our house.

The leaf in the photo above comes from the park across the street from our house.  The kids rode their bikes while I ran.  At the end of our time in the park, we walked through all the fallen leaves.  As we walked, we quietly listened to the crispy and crunchy leaves under our feet.  It was a great zen moment.  There is beauty in the decay of Autumn.

 

6 responses

  1. I love this story and the photo. I was out today taking some photos of flowers and the most fun was taking photos of the ones that were succumbing to the autumn weather. I love taking photos of natural things like that. There is such unusual beauty in it. Thanks so much for sharing your photo!

    September 17, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    • Fall is my favorite season. Mostly because of the fashion choices, but also because of the crunch of the leaves and the crispness of the air. Autumn rocks.

      September 17, 2011 at 8:20 pm

      • I know, right? I find myself walking out of my way to stomp on leaves like this one. This photo wouldn’t have been stunning to me had you chosen to focus on any other part of the subject, great idea to get a macro on decay. I like it a lot.

        September 17, 2011 at 8:37 pm

      • Actually, I used extension tubes to move a 70-210mm zoom lens closer to the subject but further away from the sensor. It is havoc trying to control the lens and the focus. Wait until you see tomorrow’s post – a little closer on a much bigger subject. Thanks for stopping by.

        September 17, 2011 at 11:24 pm

  2. Gorgeous. Makes me think of the many people who are decaying around me currently (even my own body at the moment) and how it’s all part of life. Beautiful in its own way. Lovely way to think of life. Thank you for sharing.

    September 18, 2011 at 1:02 am

  3. We are now living in a part of the country (USA) where I am told the autumns are stunning. We are still in the green but everywhere I look colorful foliage is beginning to emerge. Your take on decay is beautiful, and I will be keeping my eyes open to its unfolding glory during the coming weeks. Thanks.

    September 18, 2011 at 5:01 am