(mostly) daily photoblog

Full moon in my backyard

How does the moon create such a fascination in me?  Last night, when the moon got up over the horizon, I called my wife outside to the deck to see the moon cresting the ridge a few kilometers away from our house.  She came out and asked, “What?”  I said, “Look.  There,” and pointed to the ridge.

Her response was underwhelmed, at best.

I know it’s a hunk of space rock, but it has captured my imagination.  Tonight, I snapped a bunch of photos of it and tried a few different shutter speeds and apertures.  I think I got, in the photo above, a little of the magic of the moon as it exists in my mind.

2 responses

  1. Hilary

    I am overwhelmed with the beauty of the moon!!

    September 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    • Just not that night, sweetie.

      September 12, 2011 at 9:24 pm