(mostly) daily photoblog

Today was the first day of school…here’s the beach

I went back to work, officially, today.  I’ve been in the school (I’m a teacher, btw) a few times already this year, for a 9th grade orientation that I run and to put some things together for the year, but today was the first day that all the students were in the school and classes kicked into gear.  

So…I’m thinking of the beach.  And how much I wish I was there.

It’s not that I don’t love my job.  I do.  I feel that teaching is my calling – it chose me as much as I chose it.  It is an incredible profession and most days I can’t believe that I get paid to have this much fun.  I do, however, wish that I was still on holidays, lazily enjoying the ocean breeze, desperately avoiding real life.

To that end, I present to you…driftwood.  A friendly reminder that only seven hours away from work is a beach.  A happy place, as it were.

 

One response

  1. I was so busy this summer that I hardly got to go to the beach–which is literally down the street from my house. I started school yesterday and, yes, a good profession, but after having looked at your inviting photo . . . it makes me wish for at least one more week!

    September 7, 2011 at 3:59 am