(mostly) daily photoblog

What’s your favorite dessert beverage?

Mine is the Root Beer Float.  I don’t have them very often, but when I was a kid my parents would take us out for lunch at a place called “The Pioneer Steakout”.  They served my favorite lunch meal, the hot hamburger sandwich with fries and gravy, and I would beg my parents to let me order the more expensive Root Beer Float.  In my mind, if I could get the Root Beer Float, I’d have a drink and dessert in one order and we never got to order dessert at restaurants.

This afternoon, after lunch, I made my own float and then took a few shots of it.  That’s it, above.  I particularly like how the ice cream is starting to melt down the cup.  But it brings to mind this question:  what’s your favorite dessert beverage?

12 responses

  1. Yum…that looks pretty good. Coke floats are good too…and slushies and iced coffees and ice caps and……..!!!

    September 5, 2011 at 2:16 pm

  2. I like Hot chocolate, that’s considered a dessert beverage I guess.

    September 5, 2011 at 3:09 pm

  3. Kerry

    LOVE Root beer floats…but we can’t get root beer here. 😦 I make a lot of fruit smoothies…a better, more healthy option. 🙂

    September 5, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    • Yeah, but once in a while you’ve got to treat yourself. Mmm…root beer float.

      September 5, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    • Just discovered today that Pioneer Steakhouse is no more….replaced by a clothing store and now this little town has a Tim Hortons!
      My favorite would be a strawberry lemonade!

      September 6, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    • oh, you can buy A and W Rootbeer near the grocery store in Antiguq….that would work.

      September 6, 2011 at 10:16 pm

  4. on the menu for tonight – thanks to you…floats! Nom, nom, nom…

    September 5, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    • I’m glad I could help. It’s why I’m here.

      September 5, 2011 at 6:46 pm

  5. Yum Yum Yum! I haven’t had one since I was a kid, but just looking at it makes me want to run out and get some root beer and ice cream. Again I say YUM!

    September 5, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    • I say, “Go for it!” Especially with A&W Root Beer, or Mug. Mmm…root beer.

      September 5, 2011 at 6:45 pm

  6. sure does look good

    September 6, 2011 at 2:57 am

    • So come over and have some. Or make your own. Whatever.

      It was delicious.

      September 6, 2011 at 10:03 pm