(mostly) daily photoblog

Black and White Flowers. Hmm…

I’m torn.  Flowers are great because of three things:  beauty, smell and color.  If I take a photograph of flowers the viewer loses all sense of how they smell.  If I process it black and white, I remove the color and now you, the viewer, are left with contrast and detail, but it’s missing two of the things that draw people to flowers in real life.  Hmm…

So, I have to ask you, dear reader of this blog, is it worth it?  Does their beauty, without color and smell, still captivate?

 

4 responses

  1. Brenda Toews

    Yes, because there is still beauty in the form and shape and symmetry of these hydrangeas. Consider the intricate detail…all from a tiny seed.

    August 27, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    • Well, I posted the photo, so I agree, but I’m curious as to whether they’re as interesting to others. Thanks.

      August 28, 2011 at 2:57 pm

  2. Chloe [Photographer]

    i think flowers are still captiviating even in b&w – i just uploaded a b&w series of flowers that i took last weekend

    August 28, 2011 at 12:19 am

    • Yeah, I saw those this morning. Beautiful.

      August 28, 2011 at 2:57 pm