(mostly) daily photoblog

Pinky Winky…not to be confused with a Teletubbie…Teletubby…whatever

When my daughter was little, my wife let her watch Teletubbies.  I thought it was like Sesame Street on LSD, but my daughter, in all her toddler glory, loved the show.  Plus, my wife was a full-time, first-time mother and needed a bit of downtime and the Teletubbies were there to rescue her from having to chase my daughter.  I should also note that my daughter decided at the age of 17 months that she was no longer napping at all and that we’d all pay a price if we didn’t take heed of her demands, so sleep and rest during the day was not happening around the Bergen household.

Anyway, there’s a Teletubby (or is it “ie”?) whose name is Tinky Winky.  I’m not sure if he…she…it was the start of the furor back about a decade ago.  The furor was around the fact that Tinky Winky, who was mistaken by conservative, right-wing media and parents’ groups as being a human male, was carrying around a big bag that resembled a purse.  Parents’ groups were worried that Tinky Winky was sending the wrong message about what it meant to be male.  Really?  Go look at Tinky Winky.  Does it look male, let alone human?  It looks bipedal with a head and arms, but that’s about where the comparison ends.  I don’t think it even has genitals, although I’m not looking it up to check.  Maybe that’s what that thing is on top, although it could be a communication device to talk to the saucer people.  Whatever.  Now, almost every grown male I know has a “satchel” or “shoulder bag” or “man-bag” and none of us are worried that we’re sending the wrong message to our kids.

So what does this have to do with the photo?  When I told my friends Josh and Karina that we had planted Pinky Winky Hydrangeas in the back yard, Josh looked at me and said, “You planted a Teletubbie in your backyard?”  Yup, we planted Tinky Winky.

3 responses

  1. That is funny.

    August 25, 2011 at 4:58 pm

  2. Nice looking flowers…that is all I am saying!!!!

    August 26, 2011 at 11:07 am

  3. Lovely flowers. And it is Tellytubby. I never watched – my kids were too old when that started! Most of the fuss over here was over the lack of proper language.

    August 27, 2011 at 3:00 pm