(mostly) daily photoblog

Pinky: WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge

This little beauty was sitting outside the local library, just waiting for me and my camera.  I like flowers.  I know that I’m a guy and that I’m supposed to buy flowers for my wife and not for myself.  I’m supposed to be watching my wife grow the flowers in the garden, not be worried about how pretty everything looks.

But I’m a lover of flowers.  Secretly, I love buying flowers for my wife because then I get to enjoy them as well.

I guess that’s not much of a secret anymore.

 

 

8 responses

  1. This is really quite a lovely photo–such rich colors and strong veining in the leaves. ps It’s ok to love flowers!

    August 20, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    • I know, but not typically “manly”. Thanks for the nice words.

      August 20, 2011 at 7:54 pm

  2. The flower is pretty but I like the leaves too, nice colors.

    August 20, 2011 at 8:38 pm

  3. beautiful details – love the neighboring leaves! is this a camellia?

    August 21, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    • Good question. I used to have a camellia in my backyard, but this was taken at a local park so I’m not sure. Thanks for the nice words.

      August 21, 2011 at 1:40 pm

  4. woah, awesome bright colours! did you increase the saturation or is this natural?

    August 21, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    • I did touch the saturation a little, but not much. I also adjusted the contrast and levels – again, only a little. The colours were largely that vibrant.

      August 21, 2011 at 8:39 pm

  5. beautiful – and they look like roses I see growing in my neck of the woods. They may be simple blossoms as far as roses go, but they have a wonderful fragrance. No apology necessary for admitting to like something so likeable!

    August 22, 2011 at 2:35 pm