(mostly) daily photoblog

Parenting takes love and courage

“In spite of the six thousand manuals on child raising in the bookstores, child raising is still a dark continent and no one really knows anything.  You just need a lot of love and luck – and, of course, courage. ” – Bill Cosby

Above are my two beautiful children.  I love them more than my own life.  But they have spawned in me some complete confusion and inspired love.  Let me give you a couple of examples:

1. When we were traveling to Oregon only a scant two weeks ago, my children made me so proud.  The happily dealt with a full day of traveling, followed by five days of bliss.  They got along.  They saved small aquatic animals from death.  They found utter joy in throwing a stick in the ocean, only to chase it down the beach, rescue it from the surf and throw it right back in.  They comforted me when, in a fit of stupidity I thought I was younger than I am, I hurled myself into and over a railing, leaving a sizable dent in my shin.  They were stupendous.  And for a brief and amazing moment, I thought, “We’re amazing parents.  We should write books.”

2.  My children decided last night that they wanted to sleep in our basement in our original three-man tent.  At 10:00, my wife found them lying in the tent with the lights out but their Nintendo DS’s fully engaged when they were supposed to be fast asleep.  After a stern, but amused, talking-to, they went to sleep.  At 2:00 in the morning, my daughter came upstairs to the living room, where my wife chose to sleep so she could “hear the children”, to inform my wife that she could not sleep.  My wife made her way to the basement, where she slept in the tent on the floor so that the children could continue their adventure.  This morning, after a dearth of sleep, my children proceeded to fight with each other at such a volume that even I could not ignore it.  And for a brief and groggy moment, I thought, “What were we thinking when we thought we could be parents?”

In the span of two weeks I’ve gone from proud and maybe a little arrogant parent to a bewildered and short-fused parent.  I love my children, but this parenting thing?  Well, I can’t have one without the other.

6 responses

  1. So true on every level. I tell the parents of my students… that they are their child’s first teacher…if you think teaching is hard,parenting is harder… and last, I have them for just a few hours,you have them for the rest of your lives. Parent on my man!!!!

    August 15, 2011 at 11:27 pm

  2. Chloe [Photographer]

    got to take the good with the bad 🙂
    heh

    nice photograph

    August 16, 2011 at 2:43 am

  3. So gorgeous! I’m hopeful that when I hit the Florence coast in three weeks, the weather will be like that reflected here.

    August 16, 2011 at 4:50 am

  4. so when is your book being published????
    Welcome to parenting 101-1001……you do survive and move on….
    I think we did!

    August 16, 2011 at 1:24 pm

  5. elmediat

    Beautiful composition. Parenting, like the rest of life, is full of twists, turns, and surprises. The most significant thing is that it is never an even playing field. This means no matter the experience, advice and examples given, we all get something a bit different. If we are really lucky, we do not get more than we can cope with in an effectively.

    August 19, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    • Absolutely. Thanks.

      August 19, 2011 at 9:28 pm