(mostly) daily photoblog

Whose steps will you follow?

As my son walked across the sand in front of me, I wondered, “Who will he follow?”  Will he follow his friends and not make his own decisions?  Will he follow his parents into education?  Will he put others before himself?  Will he lead and not follow?

I think these are pretty universal conundrums faced by parents everywhere.  I did not anticipate, before becoming a parent, that I would be that worried about how my children would turn out.  But now that my daughter is ten going on fifteen and my son is seven and a perfect combination of anxiety and over-confidence, I think about these things.  I think it was easier for me when I was their age because I was in the middle of it.  My parents, however, must have thought the same things I am thinking about my own kids.

I guess I’ll continue to influence them as much as I can and hope for the best.

 

 

10 responses

  1. Yes, we did….and look what happened….what a great example Ben has in you….
    We are very proud of both of you……just keep praying for him….God does the rest!

    August 11, 2011 at 5:52 pm

  2. That is a beautiful photo. I think the sand texture and strong shadow really makes it work.

    I am no parent, and am probably too young to be. I’m probably therefore not the best source on parental advice. But exiting my teenage years now, I have to look back and feel glad that my parents gave me a certain set of principles to follow, even if I didn’t necessarily show it at the time. As children enter their teenage years these days, I think it’s not unusual for them to start to want to open up and consider other sources of advice. These can be both good or bad influences. During this time, I was quite fortunate to have been taught the difference between these influences by my parents, and still am. But sometimes, even now, I wish they hadn’t insisted on coddling me as much as they did. In my opinion, when you become a parent of teenagers, they’ll expect you to become advisors instead of guardians, and will tend to reject attempts to force advice upon them. They’ll prefer to make their own mistakes. But I remember that things my parents told me would always make perfect sense when my father sat me down and explained it to me calmly.

    Please don’t take this post as me telling you how to raise your children, because I’m definitely not in a position to tell anyone how to do that. But your post struck a chord with me and reminded me of certain aspects of my relation with my parents, and I felt like sharing some of my personal experience with you. I hope you find it useful. Best wishes to you and your family. 🙂

    Yours truly,
    Doug

    August 11, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    • Thanks, Doug. I appreciate your perspective on this. I, too, was taught by my parents and was given the opportunity to make my own mistakes. Hopefully I can be as trusting as my parents were of me.

      August 11, 2011 at 10:39 pm

  3. Nice photo and great thoughts. I often wonder this too. Let’s hope they have some great role models, besides their parents, to have an impact on them. Often, teachers have profound impacts. I know you are a teacher and you probably have impacted many students already and may not even know it.

    August 11, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    • Thanks. The thing is, I am one of many teachers my students will encounter. I am one of only two parents my own kids will ever have, so I’m far more concerned with the impact I’m making there than I am about the thousand or so students I’ve taught. Thank you for the kind words.

      August 11, 2011 at 10:44 pm

  4. i love this shot, photos speak a thousand words & more

    August 12, 2011 at 11:05 pm

  5. Pingback: Whose steps will you follow? (via right in front of me) « Hodgepodge 4 the Soul

  6. I have a 10 year old daughter, since the beginning i always kept her close to me and in turn she has always trusted me with what’s on her mind, as such she respects my ideas of what is right and wrong, i also take her out on mini father and daughter dates so she knows how she wants to be treated, when she is all grown up. Children follow whatever path they are shown by us, do your best to give them the right guidance and watch them make the right decisions, you’d be amazed by the results! good luck 🙂

    August 13, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    • Sounds like me with my ten year old daughter. Thanks.

      August 13, 2011 at 10:41 pm

  7. Pingback: Whose steps will you follow? « right in front of me « sharin' His love