(mostly) daily photoblog

Oregon Coast: a love story

I just got back from spending five days on the Oregon Coast.  It is the second summer the Family B has visited the Oregon Coast and we’ve fallen in love with it.  It is easily the most beautiful, natural area I’ve ever vacationed.  The triptych above (just for you, Karina – triptych) shows you the area where we camped.  The town of Manzanita is at the foot of Mount Neahkahnie (seen in the bottom right) and the beach extends out from the cliff-sides down to a spit of land that ends where the Nehalem River meets the ocean.  Our campsite was about halfway down the beach you can see in the photo on the left.

We stayed in a yurt (Year-round Universal Recreational Tent) that was a five minute walk from the beach.  The sand is soft and light and completely enveloped my foot as I walked in it.  The ocean gently lapped at the beach all day and night and lulled me to sleep.  There is virtually no light pollution, so I got to see all the stars I remembered from when I was a child. I nearly cried the first night I looked up and was met by billions of lights while being serenaded by the constant sound of waves crashing on the sand.

Playing with my kids on the beach and in the water tops the vacation cake.  There’s nothing in the world like this.

I love this place.

Oh, and I was so in love with this place that I had to post today, even though it was the second post of the day.  Whoo!

17 responses

  1. nice pictures!!!

    August 6, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    • That’s very nice of you. Thanks.

      August 6, 2011 at 9:56 pm

  2. A tremendous triptych to top off a terrific trip. It’s so lovely, it’s not even superfluous to have posted twice in one day. Thank you for thinking of me when you posted…Huzzah.

    August 6, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    • You’re welcome. I knew you were a fan of the triptych (word and thing). The trip was terrific. We should all go together next year. Seriously.

      August 6, 2011 at 10:29 pm

  3. Great Photographs !

    August 6, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    • Thanks. I appreciate the compliment.

      August 6, 2011 at 11:05 pm

  4. Such beautiful pics! I am from the east coast and I had no idea that Oregon was so beautiful! Your pics really made me want to visit the Oregon coast! Thanks for sharing!

    August 6, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    • We camped next to a couple from Maine. They were in awe of what they saw as well. Where we camp is about an eight hour drive from our house, but we’re looking for ways to stay longer and maybe, someday, buy a property down there as a getaway. Pipe dreams now, but…someday…

      August 7, 2011 at 10:19 am

  5. I want to be there and maybe I just was–for a moment anyway! Marvelous pictures.

    August 7, 2011 at 4:04 am

    • You should visit the coast. It’s incredible. I’ll be posting more photos from the trip over the next few weeks. You can make up your mind after seeing more of what it has to offer.

      August 7, 2011 at 10:17 am

  6. Seriously…we should seriously plan that! How fun!

    August 7, 2011 at 6:15 am

    • Absolutely. Just be ready to book your Yurt or campsite 9 months ahead of time – yay, November.

      August 7, 2011 at 10:17 am

  7. Gorgeous shots of the Oregon coastline. I love the place, too!

    August 7, 2011 at 1:26 pm

  8. Beautiful. Wishing I were back in Eugene right now, so I could hop in the car and drive over to see these things with my own eyes. I suppose I’ll content myself with seeing them through someone else’s eyes, and knowing I’ll be there briefly in a month!

    August 7, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    • Yeah, I kind of wish I was back there, too. Actually, anywhere where I have few responsibilities would be good.

      August 7, 2011 at 6:52 pm

  9. big wang

    these are incredible
    i like your angles & compositions

    August 7, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    • Thanks very much. BTW, I got through a roll and a half of film in my old SLR on this trip. I’ll post some in the next few days and show you what I came up with.

      August 7, 2011 at 10:05 pm